# The EOU: General Meeting of the 14th EOU Congress (Lund)

## Friday 25 August 2023 at 17:00 in Lilla Salen, AF

## Agenda

- 1) Welcome by the President Alfonso Marzal
- 2) Attendance

## 3) Minutes of the General Meeting of 15 March 2022 (Giessen/Zoom)

The minutes have been posted to members on the EOU website noticeboard https://eounion.org/noticeboard/. Members are asked to raise any matters arising from the minutes that do not appear elsewhere on the agenda of the current meeting.

The General Meeting is asked <u>to approve</u> these minutes as a correct record of the meeting.

## 4) Election of new Council members, headed by Jan-Åke Nilsson

The following officers will continue: President-Elect Peter László Pap, Romania; President Alfonso Marzal, Spain; Past President Jan-Åke Nilsson, Sweden; Secretary Dan Chamberlain, Italy and Treasurer Oliver Conz, Germany.

#### The following Council members will continue:

Sanja	Barišić	Croatia
Davide	Dominoni	UK
Ivan	Maggini	Austria
Giulia	Masoero	Switzerland
Kevin	Matson	Netherlands
Carina	Nebel	Finland
Katarzyna	Wojczulanis-Jakubas	Poland

#### Those retiring from Council this year are:

Alexander	Mischenko	Russia
Andreas	Nord	Sweden
Arseny	Tsvey	Russia
Jordi	Figuerola	Spain
Nayden	Chakarov	Bulgaria
Suvi	Ruuskanen	Finland

Valentyn	Serebryakov	Ukraine
Zoltán	Nemeth	Hungary
Petra	Quillfeldt	Germany
Tobias	Reiners	Germany

We thank them all cordially for their dedication and support. In particular, we thank Petra Quillfeldt and Tobias Reiners for their efforts to plan for a conference in Giessen, Germany.

#### Candidates for election to fill the Council vacancies:

The nomination committee for the Council members consisted of Blandine Doligez (France), Judy Shamoun-Baranes (The Netherlands), Andras Liker (Hungary) and chaired by Past President Jan-Åke Nilsson (Sweden). Information on candidates for election has been sent to our members, and has been posted on the website's noticeboard on 21 July, 2023.

The committee is pleased to ask the General Meeting to <u>elect eight new</u> ordinary **members of Council.** The following twelve candidates are standing for election:

Zsofía	Toth	Hungary/Sweden
Attila	Fülöp	Romania
Andrey	Mukhin	Russia
Andriy	Bokotey	Ukraine
Arianna	Passarotto	Spain/Sweden
Adam	Lendvai	Hungary
Josué	Martínez de la Puente	Spain
Alexey	Opaev	Russia
Kristaps	Sokolovskis	Finland
Emanuel Stefan	Baltag	Romania
Ülo	Väli	Estonia
Vidya	Padmakumar	Canada

The General meeting will also <u>elect</u> two auditors. Delegates are asked to identify independent volunteers as auditors and proceed to elect two of them.

#### 5) Treasurer's report by Oliver Conz

The Treasurer's report will be presented by our Treasurer Oliver Conz, on behalf of Council. The auditors will be asked to present their assessment.

The meeting is asked to discuss any pertinent matters and to approve the report.

#### 6) Report of Local Organising Committee

Anders Brodin will present a report on behalf of the Local Organising Committee.

#### 7) Report from the Chair of the Scientific Program Committee

Suvi Ruuskanen will present reflections on the work with the scientific program. The meeting is asked to provide feed-back on the procedure.

### 8) Report of the Fledglings

Representatives of the Fledglings, the early-career-stage researchers within the EOU, will present a report on their activities.

#### 9) Report of Council

The President will present a report of EOU activities over the last two years on behalf of Council.

The meeting is asked to raise any pertinent issues not dealt with elsewhere on the agenda and to approve the report.

## 10) Arrangements for future conferences

#### 2025 conference

Information on the venue for the 2025 EOU conference. Mark Mainwaring from the UK will extend an invitation to all members to come to Bangor. The General Meeting is asked to discuss the invitation and to approve it.

#### 2027 conference

Council will be collecting suggestions for conferences in 2027 and beyond. Members are invited to raise ideas for events and arrangements for future conferences.

#### 11) Any other business

Members are invited to address additional points.

## 12) Closing of meeting

President Alfonso Marzal will close the meeting.